“I don’t photograph life as it is, but life as I would like it to be.”


and it really got me thinking about posting our entire life on social media, what we want other people to know about us and how we want to be seen by others.

Surely we all want to look fab, hiding our double chin by posing from the right angle, not breathing for several seconds just so we can capture the perfect photo of our perfect 6 pack. We have designer clothes, our make-up is on fleek all the time, we drink pumpkin spice latte regularly with our friends, and that’s always #squadgoals and #relationshipgoals.

Now I’m not saying I don’t do any of it (definitely guilty of not breathing when taking pics because – Big Mac!) from time to time, but in the same time I wish to stay true to  myself, family and friends by showing some real me, some no-make up – dressed in pj’s – messy bun me. The one that is not afraid to laugh even though her teeth won’t make you go blind by looking at them, the one who’s not afraid to cry when watching a sad movie even though she knows extremely well her mascara is not waterproof, the one who’s not afraid to eat what she adores even though the new dress she just bought won’t fit her the next day. A picture can capture a smile, but it will never capture the emotions, thoughts and feelings that came with that smile or made that smile happen.

Despite the fact we all want to show the entire world only the best version of ourselves (which is not entirely wrong because it is always better to spread positivity, kindness, hope and love rather than criticism), let’s not forget about what’s real.

Everyone is your friend on social media, even the ones who don’t necessarily like you, but want to keep you close so they can see what’s new in your life and if it’s better than theirs,  and everyone tells you how amazing you are, and what a great couple you make with your other half, but only you know what happens behind closed doors. I’ve met plenty of people that were “goals” on social media and soon after I discovered with great sadness that it was not the case, and a web of lies controlled their lives. It was like tearing off a beautiful wrapping paper only to find a present not as nice as you thought it’d be.

Even though I fully understand what Doisenau wanted to say by “I don’t photograph life as it is, but life as I would like it to be” (because this is the thing that got me thinking today. Whaaa, you think, mate?), let’s not photoshop our lives for others because we won’t get a chance to take a second picture of this moment.

but you can always use a filter. I like filters.

2 thoughts on ““I don’t photograph life as it is, but life as I would like it to be.”


Leave a Reply

